Richard Barton wins TOBA Honor

From CTBA:


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Aug. 22, 2018) – The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association named Richard Barton the California Breeder of the Year .

TOBA also announced that eFive Racing, Godolphin, Juddmonte Farm, Rockingham Ranch and the partnership of Winchell Thoroughbreds and Three Chimneys Farm have been selected as finalists for the TOBA National Owner of the Year.

The TOBA National Owner of the Year will be announced live at the TOBA National Awards Dinner, which will be held on Saturday, September 8 at the Woodford Reserve Club at Kroger Field in Lexington, Ky.

TOBA will also honor breeders from 23 states and Canada.  The National Breeder of the Year and the National Small Breeder of the Year will also be disclosed at the TOBA National Awards Dinner.

Other TOBA national award winners include Win Approval, dam of World Approval, who has been named as the National Broodmare of the Year and Mended, who will be honored as Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA.

The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year will go to Arglye, owned by Skyeler Voss and owner/breeder George Strawbridge will receive the Robert N. Clay Award, which recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

“On behalf of our board of trustees and our members, we congratulate all of the winners of the national and state awards,” said Dan Metzger, president of TOBA.  “They represent excellence in Thoroughbred racing and breeding on both the national level, as well as regionally and TOBA is honored to share their successes with them.”

Tickets to the TOBA National Awards Dinner can be purchased at or by calling Meredith Downey at (859) 276-6793.

A complete list of state winners is as follows:

State Breeders of the Year:

Arkansas: Bill McDowell

California: Richard Barton

Canadian: K5 Stables

Florida: Charlotte Weber/ Live Oak Stud

Illinois: Nancy Vanier

Indiana: Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer

Iowa: Allen Poindexter

Kansas: Lance and Valerie Gabriel

Kentucky: Charles Fipke

Louisiana: Bertram and Richard Klein

Maryland: Howard M. Bender

Massachusetts: Joseph DiRico

Michigan: Lisa Campbell

Minnesota: Curtis Sampson

New Jersey: Isabelle Haskell de Tomaso

New York: Chester and Mary Broman

North Carolina: Nancy Shuford

Ohio: Robin Murphy

Oregon: James and Carol Owens

Pennsylvania: Elizabeth Moran

South Carolina: Franklin Smith Sr.

Texas: Craig Upham

Virginia: Mr. and Mrs. C. Oliver Iselin

Washington: Tim Floyd